The Depressed Cake Shop

Yesterday I had the pleasure of visiting my first Depressed Cake Shop pop up shop.

The Depressed Cake Shop first captured my attention when I read about it on a blog last year (I forget which one it was). Basically it is a pop up cake shop that raises awarness of mental health issuesby selling grey coloured cakes and baked goods which are much more appetising than they sound! All the proceeds go to a mental health charity of their choice.

What a fabulous idea and for a fabulous cause too! 

Today’s shop was held by students from Canterbury Christ Church University who had clearly worked hard on their shop.  The displays and the baking looked great.

Flyer for the Depressed Cake Shop
Flyer for the Depressed Cake Shop
Showing some of the goodies on offer
Showing some of the goodies on offer
Beautiful display!
Beautiful display!
One of the display boards telling everybody what the cake shop was about
One of the display boards telling everybody what the cake shop was about
Very tempting!  Along with the cakes there were leaflets on display highlight various mental health issues
Very tempting! Along with the cakes there were leaflets on display highlight various mental health issues
I love the idea of the Black Dog Bikkies...I'm sure Winston Churchill would have approved!!
I love the idea of the Black Dog Bikkies…I’m sure Winston Churchill would have approved!!
I loved the bi-polar cupcakes.  It really was as good as it looks..
I loved the bi-polar cupcakes. It really was as good as it looks..

Happy and Sad cookies

Each label had a different name for the cakes
Each label had a different name for the cakes
These are the two that came back to the office with me!
These are the two that came back to the office with me!
Leave a Reply

