Easy Weekend Chilli

We bought a slow cooker (or crock pot, whichever you want to call it) a few months ago but I hadn’t got around to using it so last week I started to look up recipes for it.  I didn’t want to just throw a load of stuff in there because I had visions of this charred, stringy, overcooked meat emerging and us just ordering Chinese!  Not quite the releasing of the inner domestic goddess that  I had envisioned!!

Anyway, I digress.  I found a wonderful chilli recipe on food.com which seemed simple enough to make.  I like simple! The recipe was ‘Gish’s Amazing Chilli for the Crock Pot‘.  I wish I knew who Gish was because I’d like to give him or her a big kiss for sharing such an amazing recipe.

It was easy to make and the recipe list wasn’t so horribly extensive that I had to get loads of ingredients in.  I had most of them in my cupboard already apart from the salsa, tinned tomatoes and Italian seasoning.

To make the chilli, you simply brown the mince, add all the ingredients to the crock pot (including the mince once it is browned) then set it to cook slowly for 6 – 8 hours. 

All the ingredient combined and added to the crock pot
All the ingredients combined and added to the crock pot before being cooked

So, fast forward 6 hours and the chilli is smelling delicious!  I served it with sour cream to cool down the heat, cheese and nachos.  It didn’t need anything else. 

Chilli (this is only about half of what was cooked, the rest went in the freezer), served with cheese, cheese nachos, salted nachos and sour cream
Chilli (this is only about half of what was cooked, the rest went in the freezer), served with cheese, cheese nachos, salted nachos and sour cream
Finished product!  Chilli, nachos and sour cream
Finished product! Chilli, nachos and sour cream

Be warned, both hubby and I found the chilli very hot, so much so that hubby christened it ‘f**k you chilli’ because it looks like it is sitting there and saying ‘f**k you!’

The recipe says that it serves 6 hungry people and I found that very generous indeed.  Hubby and I had a large bowl full and the rest went in the freezer for later.

 

Simple, delicious and no waste.  Definitely my kind of food and a recipe I’d definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

