The Flavours of Love – Dorothy Koomson

I finally finished ‘The Flavours of Love’ by Dorothy Koomson on Sunday. I’m going to start by saying I didn’t love it. It was okay but it didn’t rock my world. This was reflected by the fact that it took me nearly 3 weeks to read it. It probably would have had more of an impact if I’d not read any of Koomson’s other books but I have and it seems to be the same premiss served up in a different way.

The basic things that usually happen are:

  • Somebody dying
  • Somebody putting their life back together
  • A love affair that either can’t go ahead because of complications
  • Child/ren with a problem

I know this is the same with many authors but for some reason this is glaringly obvious with Koomson’s novels.

When I first read ‘Goodnight Beautiful’ I loved it, I was invested in the characters and parts of it actually hurt!  I rushed out to buy other books by Koomson but I have found that I am enjoying them less and less (the exception being ‘The Ice Cream Girls’).

I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly but there is something missing in these books for me, some missing ingredient or x-factor.  I enjoy them but I don’t love them.

Would I recommend it?  I don’t know.  If you are looking for a well-written, light, easy read then yes absolutely but if you are looking for something a bit deeper then this is probably not what you are looking for.

Curling up with a book and a cat!  One of my favourite occupations!
Curling up with a book and a cat! One of my favourite occupations!
Leave a Reply

