Chapmans – Canterbury

Chapmans has been on my list of restaurants to visit after it was recommended to me by fellow foodies at work. Hubby and I both love fish so when we were in Canterbury on Thursday, it seemed like the perfect opportunity!

Interior of Chapmans (downstairs)
Interior of Chapmans (downstairs)
Plenty more room upstairs (pic is a bit blurry!)
Plenty more room upstairs (pic is a bit blurry!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Starters were scallops and black pudding with cauliflower puree for me, thai fishcakes for hubby and oysters to share – although as usual we shared all the starters.  I prefer it this way because we get to try a bit of everything!

Scallops, black pudding and cauliflower puree for me, thai fishcakes for hubby and oysters to share
Scallops, black pudding and cauliflower puree for me, thai fishcakes for hubby and oysters to share
Oyster, glorious oyster!
Oyster, glorious oyster!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loved the scallops, fishcakes weren’t so great – dry and chewy, though the chef explained this away as being because they are all fish and cooked thai style.  Either way I wouldn’t recommend them.

Without a doubt it had to be lobster with garlic butter and fries for the main course.

Lobster, fries and side salad
Lobster, fries and side salad

Absolutely delicious!  I really enjoyed the side salad that it came with.

Unfortunately I didn’t have room for dessert but there’s always next time!!

Leave a Reply

