05.05.15 – Texas – Day 5, Dallas (Plano) – Fort worth

Sometimes when we are on these holidays we have a mall day.  Today was such a day.  We decided to go to North Park in Dallas on the way to Fort Worth.  It was easy enough to find and had plenty of parking spaces.

One thing hubby and I did notice was that it had a lot of the shops that we have in England.  The mall stuck me as ‘designer’.  There were a lot of brand names there (Louis Voutton, Ted Baker, Diesel, Michael Korrs) which was okay but very much out of my price range. I love clothes, shoes and accessories but I don’t like to pay a lot for them.

I did manage to find some nice jewellery in H&M.  I also discovered Pinto Ranch Fine Western Wear which sold gorgeous boots.  I have been on a quest to find some boots while I’m out here but haven’t managed so far.  I have quite wide feet so finding something I like and that fits is proving a bit tricky.  I did find some I liked in Pinto Ranch but they were hideously expensive.  Everything was expensive.  I come from London and if I think it is expensive then it really is!! The boots I liked ranged from $800 – $1300.  I know they market themselves as being handmade but even so, it’s still a bit out of my price range.

20150505_132207The food options were somewhat limited it was irrelevant to me because to my great delight they had Panda Express.  I love Panda Express but again, this is a chain that isn’t available in the UK.  I have some of their recipes to try out but simply haven’t got around to it yet.  I had sweetfire chicken breast, honey walnut shrimp and Beijing Beef.  I love that the beef is tender and not chewy.

Afterwards we headed to Starbucks.  Coffee for hubby and English Breakfast tea for me as I don’t drink coffee. I was horrified to discover they’d run out of English breakfast tea!  In London there’d be a riot if that happened!  At least we had teabags in the car and I was able to get a cup of tea when we got to our room at Fort Worth.

Overall I wasn’t terribly impressed with North Park.  I prefer somewhere a bit more normal to shop.  For me there were too many designer shops and not enough normal ones.  Highlight of the day was Panda Express and Pinto Ranch where I bought a couple of (expensive) t-shirts and chatted with the man who served us about country music and Texas history.

None of us were particularly hungry when it came to dinner time so we shared a pizza from Dominos.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The thin base was crispy and the ‘works’ pizza was delicious.  All in all a good day.

Leave a Reply

