11.05.15 – Texas – Day 11, Fort Stockton – Fredericksburg

Today we planned to travel to Fredericksburg which caught my attention because of it’s German heritage that is still a large part the town today. Fredericksburg was founded in 1846 when the first group of 120 pioneers arrived from New Braunfels.  Fredericksburg was named after Prince Frederick of Prussia and was laid out like the traditional German villages along the Rhine.  Today it has art galleries, beer gardens and antiques shops.  Definitely worthy of a visit!

The drive was approximately 260 miles and would take 3 1/2 – 4 hours which wasn’t too bad.  It gave me plenty of opportunity to read in the car.  I’ve read 6 books since I’ve been here and have had to switch to my kindle to download more.  The drive itself was fairly uneventful.

L20150511_132911unch found us at Isaack’s Restaurant in Junction which was a delight!  I loved the cosy interior and the country music channel on the TV.  I have to admit that I wasn’t sure at first but I am woefully inexperienced at diner fare.  We don’t really have an equivalent in England. I like to try to be adventurous but sometimes I need a kick in the right direction or I will stick to chain restaurants because I know what they offer.

Our waitress (I think her name was Heidi) was very friendly.  She asked where we were from, said she liked her accent and that we must think she sounded like a hick!  She had a lovely southern drawl and didn’t sound like a hick at all.  Of course I told her that.  I’m more than happy to tell people when they have delectable accents!

She spent the rest of our meal trying to crack the English accent!  Every time she talked to us she’d try to do it in an English accent or repeat back what we’d asked for or said in ‘our’ accent – although she had me sound like Lady Mary from Downton Abbey and Hubby as Dick Van Dyke from Mary Poppins!  It was really funny!  Also, she’d finish the English accented sentences with a very Southern ‘y’all’!  I don’t think I’ve heard anybody in England ever say ‘y’all’!!  It did make for a very entertaining lunch though!!

20150511_153648_HDRWe got to Fredericksburg about 3:30pm and headed out to explore almost i20150511_154825immediately.  It is a cute little town.  It has an interesting mix of German and American culture.  The shops are an interesting mix too.  Hubby described it as being like Camden (in London).  There are lots of independent shops, many of which are geared towards the tourist trade.  It wasn’t done in a tacky way but  I should imagine that the town gets incredibly busy at weekends and I wouldn’t want to be here then.

I fell in love with Amish Market which sold beautiful furniture.  There were a couple of bits that were beautiful but it would cost so much to ship to the UK.  We were chatting to the guy in there and he said he’d had an order to ship to the UK and it had cost almost as much as the sale price to ship.  Even then they could only get it to the docks in London then it was the customer’s responsibility to get it from the docks to their home!  Shame, there were a couple of bits that really could have had a place in my life!  I did leave with a couple of Amish cookery books that I’m itching to try out.

The other shop that I loved was the Christmas Store.  Yes it’s too early to be thinking about Christmas but I still walked away with 3 ornaments for the tree!  I usually buy something for the Christmas tree while I’m in the USA.  I love unusual and unique decorations for the tree.  I’m not a traditionalist when it comes to decorations for the Christmas tree and there is nothing better (in my opinion) than decorations that remind us of our travels 🙂

20150511_162640When we’d done one side of the street it was time for a coffee (or in my case tea) stop.  I also had a cherry strudel and hubby had a peach cobbler.  Peach Cobbler is on my list of things that I want to try to cook when I get home.  It might take a couple of tries to perfect but it will be a fun (an20150511_195049d tasty!) experiment!

Although there was plenty of choice of restaurants for dinner, hubby and I decided to order a Chinese takeaway!  It felt like a real treat!  I phoned up and ordered and a delivery man bought it to our hotel room.  It was bliss!  Luckily mum-in-law always brings plastic plates, knives and forks with her.  She’s prepared for anything! All in all a good day with some chill out time in the hotel room in the evening.  Bliss!  I love that these holidays are a good mix of activity and chill time.  That really works for me.

Leave a Reply

