18.05.15 – Texas – Day 18, Austin

Mall day today!  We decided to go to Barton Creek Square as it had a lot of shops that looked interesting.  It was about a 10 minute drive from the hotel and we arrived just after it opened.  The mall was deliciously quiet, although I don’t imagine this would be the case at the weekend!

The mall itself was quite big.  We started off in JC Penney where I was delighted to find that they had a handbag sale on!  After deliberating and trying to decide, I bought 3!  2 will be for going out, 1 is for everyday use.  I’m really fussy with handbags.  It has taken me months to find one that I want (for everyday use).  I prefer that they have  a shoulder strap as well as handles.

I also found the most gorgeous pair of shoes in A’Gaci.  The pic (in the link) doesn’t do them justice.  They were a really good price too.  I was completely in shoe heaven.  It got a bit confusing because I tried on a size 8 but they didn’t go anywhere near me, same with the size 9.  That made no sense at all to me because I bought my boots in a size 8 20150518_123609yesterday…..then hubby remembered that in the USA, men’s shoe sizes and women’s shoe sizes are different!  A men’s size 8 would be a women’s size 10.  The women’s size 10 would also be a UK size 8.  No wonder the shoes weren’t fitting!  Once we’d figured this out things were a lot easier!

Lunch was at Panda Express.  I love their orange chicken.  I’m really going to miss it when I go home.  Hubby bought me a cute panda with a fortune cookie.  That shall have pride of place in my kitchen with my other treasures!

I managed to get through the rest of the mall without buying anything which was great news for both my wallet and my suitcase!  We have packed a spare suitcase so we can take things home with us but on previous holidays we’ve had to make an emergency dash to Walmart because we haven’t had enough room in our cases!  Hopefully that won’t be the case this year!

We finished at Starbucks with a tea for me, coffee for hubby.  We both had s’mores but I saved mine for later.  It wasn’t on the table when we went to leave so I assumed hubby had dropped it in one of the bags.  I couldn’t find it later when I looked for it.  It turned out that mother-in-law had tidied up the table and thrown away my s’more ‘thinking it was rubbish’!!!  I was not terribly impressed and christened her ‘she who destroys s’mores’ which she accepted gracefully!

The La Quinta that we stayed at had a ‘room service’ menu.  I think they have a deal with a local restaurant who come out and deliver food to your room.  Hubby and I shared a pizza for dinner which wasn’t bad.

I was feeling a bit homesick today.  I’ve only been gone just over two weeks but I miss things like home cooking and curling up with my puss cats.  It’s normal though and I usually start feeling this way at the end of the holiday.

Lots more to see and do before we fly home!

Leave a Reply

