22.05.15 – Texas – Day 22, Houston

Today is our last full day in Texas.  Tomorrow we fly home.  I have mixed feelings.  On one hand I am sad to be finishing our holiday, on the other it will be nice to get home, see my puss cats and get back to home cooking.

We decided to have a relaxing day in the hotel before we fly home tomorrow.  The Space Station was a nice note to end the touristy things on.  My in-laws talked about going to Galverston today but the weather wasn’t great so they decided not to.

Hubby and I had a lovely lie in, so much so that we missed breakfast!  I wasn’t starving after the large meal last night so we decided to wait until lunch time then try a Thai restaurant (Thai Cottage) across the road.  I have been gagging for Thai so I was very happy with that arrangement!

It took about 10 minutes to cross the road because it was so busy.  It always amazes me that there aren’t always crossings, 20150522_115824or indeed pavements, in the USA.  Walking just doesn’t seem that common!

T20150522_121252hai Cottage was very nice.  I can see why it gets the good reviews that it does.  Hubby and I shared pork dumplings and chicken satay for starters.  Both were very nice.  For main course we decided to share Thai Red chicken curry and Pad Thai.  You could choose how spicy you wanted your food so we opted for spice level 3 (out of 5).  This left a nice tingle on the tongue and lips but nothing too much.  I think if hubby had been eating a dish to himself he would have chosen spice level 4.

20150522_204611After we’d finished lunch we came back for a doze then packed our cases.  We took one empty case with us so we have been able to fit all our purchases into the spare case.  We are pretty much done now, all we need to do tomorrow is pack our main cases and shut the other two.

This evening we had a final holiday dinner in Denny’s.  Hubby and I shared a club sandwich and a philly rib sandwich and chocolate larva cake. It seems like a fitting way to end the holiday!

Leave a Reply

