First Book Club Meeting

20151031_131351
Scone and hot chocolate! The perfect additions to a book meeting

I recently set up a Book Group and yesterday we met for the first time.  I have been looking for a local book group for some time but there is nothing that meets locally.  I’m a member of The Bookshop Cafe on Facebook and I was looking for a cross between this and Bookcrossing.  The Bookshop Cafe is such a friendly and welcoming community but it is online only.  Bookcrossing have a London Group that meet monthly but I was looking for something a bit more local.

A lot of book groups have a set book that you have to read and then have to discuss what you thought of that book.  That wasn’t the format that I envisioned.  I wanted something a bit more informal where people meet to chat and swap books especially if you throw tea and cake into the mix!

20151031_130957
Book club ladies and books
20151031_164227
My haul from the book meeting

I found the perfect location, a local cafe that has jus
t opened round the corner from us, Queen of Tarts.  I love it!  All the cakes are either baked on site or are sourced locally.  The cafe is done out in a gorgeous vintage theme and best of all, the lady who runs provides
excellent customer service.  It is laid back, friendly and efficient.

Everybody seemed to have a good time, conversation (and cake) flowed.  It was great to meet a group of like minded people.  We could have stayed there chatting for a lot longer but the cafe had closed and it was time to go home.

I am glad the meeting went so well.  I’m looking forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

