Wild – Cheryl Strayed

I’m going to start by saying that I loved this book.  I really didn’t expect to.  In fact I only bought it because it was on special offer at Tesco and, as always, I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie.

I wasn’t sure if I would click with Cheryl or identify with her at all but she has a way of writing that is refreshing and honest, not at all whiny.  She tells of the good and the bad parts of herself and takes responsibility when she hasn’t behaved well.

*SPOILERS BEYOND THIS POINT*

I felt sad for the loss of her marriage which broke down as a result of her serial infidelities.  Her husband seemed like a decent man too.  Part of me hoped that she would get back together with him at the end of her journey but real life isn’t like that and she’d probably changed so much by that point that there was no going back.

At the point where Cheryl decided to take to the Pacific Crest Trail she had a rubbish job, ruined job, debts and had just started an unhealthy, drug fueled relationship.  Not good, something had to change.

So she decided to hike the Pacific Crest Trail.  I feel a sneaking admiration for Cheryl.  I’ve had times where I would just like to take off and leave the real world behind.  She actually did it.

I was engrossed in her story.  I loved the characters she met along the way, I mourned the loss of Doug at the end of the group, my heart sank when she found she was out of money.

I enjoyed this book far more than I expected to and that is largely down to the refreshing honesty that Strayed displays throughout the book.

I was rooting for her all the way.  I’m glad she completed her journey and found herself along the way.  I’m really looking forward to seeing the film now!!

Leave a Reply

