The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge

I read the blurb on the back of the book and it sounded interesting. The idea was good and Hardinge was good at setting the scene and creating a sense of atmosphere, however the book wasn’t pacey enough for me. It didn’t have me rushing back for more or itching to find out what happened next. I carried on with the book but there wasn’t the desperate hunger to unravel everything that I feel there should be with this kind of book. I can’t complain. It was good enough, good plot, writing etc but I did find it a bit lacklustre and stonkingly average.
Other books by the same author sound interesting but they wouldn’t be high on my reading list simply because this book promised a lot and delivered to a point but wasn’t as good as it promised to be.
Leave a Reply

