Folkestone, Kent

I’ve lived in Kent most of my life and as a child, Folkstone was one of my favourite places to visit.  It’s on the Kent coast but isn’t a stereotypical coastal town that is overcrowded with arcades and ‘kiss me quick’ hats.  It’s there if you look for it but the harbour area is beautiful.  Definitely worth a stroll if you are in the area.

I parked in a car park by the harbour – £1 an hour or £6 for 24 hours.  Bargain!  The town centre is accessed by a very steep lane, aptly named Steep Street, where you can also find the Artists Quarter.

If I’m being honest, the town isn’t great.  It has the usual chains and has a general air of neglect.  I did enjoy the Artists quarter though.  It reminded me of The Lanes in Brighton, only much, muc20160704_104048h smaller and without the buzz.  A lot of the shops were closed in that area but that appears to be the normal on a Monday.

I did find a hidden gem which I’d highly recommend – Steep Street Coffee House.  It caught my eye because at first glance it looks like a book shop with row upon glorious row of books of every description.  It was love at first glance and the tea was good too!  It had a lovely, relaxed atmosphere, although it does get busy at lunchtimes.  If I were being picky I’d say the breakfast options but I’d be happy to just go in there and soak up the atmosphere.

I spent some time in the harbour watching th20160704_102511e local fishermen bring in their catches. They had an audience of teenage European tourists who seemed fascinated both by the process and the boats themselves.

One of the best sights of the day was a chef from a local restaurant going to get his fresh fish for the day.

I finished off the day in Rocksalt which comes highly recommended both by friends and by tripadvisor reviews.  I wasn’t disappointed at all.  It was a sunny day, perfect for eating outside overlooking the harbour.  Service was good and my lunch choices where delicious.  I’d definitely recommend.

Starters: Tomatoes, Golden Cross Goats Cheese & Anchovies on Toast20160704_133316

Main: Folkestone Huss in Anchovy Butter & Landcress

2016-07-04

Dessert: Custard Doughnuts with Kentish Raspberries

20160704_144239

All in all a good day was had by all.

 

Leave a Reply

